
If someone has been 
convicted of a crime, can 
that person still vote in 
Ohio?

Most often the answer is yes. With regard 
to voting rights, Ohio law can be confusing 
for election officials, corrections officials, 
and individuals who have been convicted 
of crimes. This general guide explains basic 
voting rights that apply to eligible Ohio 
voters who have been convicted of a crime.

Being eligible to Vote 
Means:

You are a citizen of the United •	
States;

You will be at least 18 years old on •	
or before the day of the election you 
plan to vote;

You will be a resident of Ohio for at •	
least 30 days immediately before 
the election for which you are 
registering;

You have not been declared •	
incompetent for voting purposes by 
a probate court; 

You are not incarcerated for a felony •	
conviction under the laws of this 
state, another state or the United 
States;

You have not been permanently •	
disenfranchised for violations of the 
election laws; and

You have registered to vote.•	

Frequently Asked Questions

If someone has been convicted of a misdemeanor, can that person still vote?

Yes. A person convicted of a misdemeanor of any degree at any time who still meets the qualifications 
above may claim his or her rights as an eligible voter in Ohio. This is true even if the person is 
incarcerated.

If someone charged with a crime is being held while awaiting trial, can that person still vote? 

Yes. Anyone being held in a pre-trial situation who wishes to exercise his or her rights as 
an eligible Ohio voter must be given that opportunity (assuming he or she is not currently 
incarcerated while convicted of another crime that is a felony).

If someone has been convicted of a felony but is not currently incarcerated, can that person still vote? 

Yes. A person who has been convicted of a felony but not currently incarcerated may vote if he or she is 
otherwise eligible to vote in Ohio. If a person has served time in jail or prison for a felony conviction and has 
been released, even if on post-release control, parole or in a “house arrest” or “half-way house” situation, 
he or she is eligible to vote. Please note, a person released from prison is required to register again at his or 
her next residence after release.

If someone has been convicted of a felony in another state and is not currently incarcerated for that 
conviction, can that person vote in Ohio? 

Yes. Like all eligible Ohio voters, however, an individual in this circumstance must live in Ohio at least 30 
days before voting in an election and must register at least 30 days before the election when he or she 
plans to vote. 

What circumstances would restrict a person’s right to vote in Ohio who has been convicted 
of a crime? 

There are only two circumstances where a person can temporarily or permanently lose his 
or her right to vote in Ohio for being convicted of a crime. First, if a person is convicted of 
a felony and currently incarcerated for that conviction, that person is not eligible to vote 
during his or her imprisonment. This applies to periods of incarceration for felony probation 
violations, violations of the terms of post release control or parole or being detained for 
extradition on a felony conviction from any state. Second, a person who has been  
twice convicted of felony violations of Ohio’s election laws is permanently  
barred from voting in Ohio.
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For more information, please contact the  
Ohio Department of Rehabilitation  

and Correction.

Office of Policy and Offender Reentry
(614) 752-0627

For the law concerning restoration  
of voting rights after a conviction,  

see section 2961.01, Rev. Code.


